There’s a “but” in Here Somewhere….

24 Apr

Some of the nicest people I know are Muslims

But…

Having grown up Muslim, I would urge Americans to demand more from the so called “moderate” Muslims, instead of giving them a pass for their silence, which appears a complicit defense of jihad. For too long, with some courageous exceptions, moderate Muslims hear no evil, see no evil and do nothing about it. They stand defiant, behaving as if they were victims, while the cries of Christians suffering under Islam in the Middle East are ignored. (Most Jews were forced out years ago. As the saying in Arabic goes: First the Saturday People, then the Sunday People).

via Five Feet of Fury

8 Responses to “There’s a “but” in Here Somewhere….”

  1. themodernidiot April 24, 2013 at 6:14 pm #

    Do you have a theory about why they are so silent? For instance, people in crime ridden areas of big cities tend to look the other way to crime for fear they might be hurt. Some see as safer to just ‘not get involved.” No trouble, no drama, no danger, etc. I do not understand why Muslims are not just kicking fundamentalist butt, but then, fundamentalist Christians are running rampant all over the place, including Congress.

    Perhaps it is a defense mechanism in stressful places to just turn a blind eye. Much like we did with slavery, internment camps, concentration camps, the Inquisition, Luther and his Kill-the-Jews! rants.

    I’m just not sure why. It’s easy for me to sit and judge from an insulated place, so I honestly try not to, but I keep coming up with the same answer-are people are just being wussies?

    Thank you for opening this discussion. I hope I haven’t intruded, but so very few want to talk about this, for fear of seeming prejudiced.

    I don’t care who you are, our being human obligates us to defend each other.

    • kootenaybob April 24, 2013 at 6:41 pm #

      I suspect it is exactly as you suggest in your first line – unfortunately I also suspect there is more tacit approval and perhaps a certain admiration by some Muslims for the actions of jihadists than we care to admit. As long as we refuse to admit even the possibility that there is an element of the Muslim faith in the US, Canada and Europe that want to remove all other religions/culures, by whatever means, we cannot fully address the threat.

      There are always people and groups that want to attack others for their beliefs, property and practices – ignoring that reality always leads to violence and conflict – I fear that is where we are today with Islam in the West – unfortunately, the violent radical Muslims dominate the entire philosophy.

      • themodernidiot April 24, 2013 at 7:57 pm #

        Yes, I’ve been waiting since 9/11 for the internal terrorist attacks to start happening. There are cells everywhere, and the vitriol grows with every year. The only way to fix it is to change the way we do business. I don’t see that happening fast enough (although I believe it’s possible), so I’m thinking next war’s right here in the good ‘ole USA.

        I agree that people do not want to admit that there is silent approval of the radical elements. After so many years of strife, even the bad guys start looking like good guys.

        I cannot condemn an entire faith, but I will admit each one has its nut jobs to be wary of. But when you were growing up Muslim, was there this kind of radicalism? I realize it has been around for a long time, but I’ve also seen the beautiful parts and people of the faith, so it’s interesting to hear each individual’s experience.

        Thanks for responding and chatting about this.

      • kootenaybob April 24, 2013 at 8:03 pm #

        Hi – I am not a Muslim – the post is from http://www.gatestoneinstitute.org/3681/muslim-family-next-door – but I can say when I was growing up and we had some contact with immigrants who were Muslim, there was none of this – most seemed to have immigrated to get away from Islamist cultures, and did not take the teachings of their faith in a literal sense – much as most Christians recognize the existence and importance of the “Old Testament” but few accept it as defining Christian philosophy.

      • themodernidiot April 24, 2013 at 8:31 pm #

        Oh, haha, sorry about that. Yes, most I’ve met have been what I’ve heard called moderate, or secular Muslims, so my information is limited to those who do denounce openly the radical elements of their faith.

        Now on the other side, I’ve met a lot of Christians who swear by the O.T. and refuse to see the lunacy of it. Luckily they are the minority, however, their influence is growing as we revert to social mores of generations gone by. It feels some days like I’ve time traveled back to the 50’s when white was right, and everything was paranoid and secret. Or back to the 1850’s when rich was gouging labor and being the catalyst for the radical hatred.
        White people I can handle because it is my culture. I can see what triggers them and just wave them off or help them see things differently-I speak their language per se. It’s harder with other cultures I haven’t been exposed enough to that lead me into more gray areas. Were I a Muslim coming from the terror in other parts of the world, how would my psyche be structured to deal with homicidal and insane aggression?
        I wish I understood more.

  2. lj41 April 24, 2013 at 7:10 pm #

    Rather odd post. Moderate Muslims have been steadfastly calling for peace, understanding and compromise. You read about it daily. Of course their voices are drowned out by extremist Jews and extremist Christians as well as extremist Muslims.

    • kootenaybob April 24, 2013 at 7:15 pm #

      Rather an odd comment. Extremist Jews and Christians “drowning out” moderate Muslims? Apparently you are one of the very few who read about it “daily”.

      • lj41 April 24, 2013 at 7:22 pm #

        Thank you. I try to stay away from MSNBC and FOX.

Leave a Reply

